Friday, February 2, 2018

Episode 3: First Knits

Guys!  I have loved talking to you with my mouth, not just my fingers.  If you think of a reply to any of the questions I pose or have any thoughts that this episode brought to mind, please share here, or on youtube.  It makes it so much more fun.   Also link photos from your ravelry page, blog, instagram, etc. of your fledgling knits!  You know you wanna!




This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast.
On my blog: http://www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On instagram as mysocalledhandmadelife: https://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On Ravelry as mamatronic: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic

Episode 3 Questions for you:

What was your shameless first sweater or hand knit?
What website, book, community inspired you in the beginning?
Beginner's recommendations for a new knitter, if different?
What've you been watching or reading lately?
Anyone been to Iceland or  know of any must-see destonations?

Stuff I mention or show:

Debbie Stoller's books that got me started knitting:

Stitch N Bitch Handbook: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/stitch-n-bitch-the-knitters-handbook
- Big Sack Sweater- Jenna Wilson: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/big-sack-sweater
- Go-Go Garter Stitch Scarf- Debbie Stoller: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/go-go-garter-stitch-scarf
- Chinese Charm Bag- Sylvia Mahoney: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/chinese-charm-bag
- Meema's Felted Tote- Meema Spadola: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/meemas-felted-marsupial-tote
- Hot Head Hat- Alex Zorn: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/hot-head

Stitch N Bitch Nation: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/stitch-n-bitch-nation/patterns
- Newsboy Cap- Shannita Williams: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/cabled-newsboy-cap---headline-news
- Fairly Easy Fair Isle- Kate Watson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/fairly-easy-fair-isle
- Lucky: Clover Lace Wrap- Melissa Wehrle: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lucky-clover-lace-wrap

Stitch N Bitch Superstar: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/stitch-n-bitch-superstar-knitting
- Saxon the City Stockings- Julia Frank: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/saxon-the-city

The Happy Hooker: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/stitch-n-bitch-crochet-the-happy-hooker/patterns
- Granny's No Square bag- Diana Rupp: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/grannys-no-square

Stefanie Japel's Fitted Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/fitted-knits-25-designs-for-the-fashionable-knitter/patterns
- Airy Wrap-Around Lace Sweater: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/airy-wrap-around-lace-sweater
Alexandra Ballerina Top: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/alexandra-ballerina-top
- Cropped Cardigan w/ Leaf Ties: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cropped-cardigan-with-leaf-ties
- Cozy V-Neck Pullover w/ Deep Ribbing: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cozy-v-neck-pullover-with-deep-ribbing
- Back to School U-Neck Vest: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/back-to-school-u-neck-vest
- (my version): https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/minas-tuxedo-vest

Her Glam Knits:
- Textrurized Tweed Coat: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/texturized-tweed-coat
- Deep U-Neck Tunic Dress: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/deep-u-neck-tunic-dress
- Zigzag Lace Wrap: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/zigzag-lace-wraparound

Knitting Without Tears- Elizabeth Zimmerman (The Best): https://www.amazon.com/Knitting-Without-Tears-Easy-Follow/dp/0684135051/ref=sr_1_1_sspa/146-2671738-9668756?ie=UTF8&qid=1517600719&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=knitting+without+tears&psc=1

52 Weeks of Dishcloths- Knit Picks: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/52-weeks-of-dishcloths-2014-pattern-collection

Kid's Chainmail Coif and Hauberk- Kim Brody Salazar: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/kids-chainmail-coif-and-hauberk-chain-mail

Dwarven Battle Bonnet- Sally Pointer: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/dwarven-battle-bonnet

A Maker's Pilgrimage with The Knitting Monk: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYvJZr2oy6aZFawzQizjpuQ

The Thistle Hollow Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzLEkx1THL8vtNSQyDeKWHg

Those Holla Knits Daze:
- Umbre Lovre- Allyson Dykhuizen: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/umbre-lovre
- Lady Bat- Teresa Gregorio: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/lady-bat
- Henri- Ann Leachman: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/henri
- Bombshell Shorts- Katie Canavan: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/bombshell-shorts
- Cedar Glen Mitts- Katie Canavan: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/cedar-glen-mitts
- Scallop of the Sea clutch- Katie Canavan: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/scallop-of-the-sea

My WIPs:
With Ease- Sylvia McFadden: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/with-ease
The Edge- Gift of Knitting Designs: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/the-edge
The Weekender- Andrea Mowry: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/the-weekender

And if you made it this far, you are unique, and so will appreciate the strangeness of these recommendations:

- Fullmetal Brotherhood: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fullmetal_Alchemist:_Brotherhood
- Oathbringer- Brandon Sanderson: https://www.amazon.com/Oathbringer-Book-Three-Stormlight-Archive/dp/076532637X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1517601416&sr=8-1&keywords=oathbringer

No comments:

Post a Comment