Wednesday, August 15, 2018

Episode 16: How we Connect

This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast.



On my blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelifehttps://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On Ravelry as mamatronic: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic?set=&columns=&view=thumbnail&page=&sort=status%20completed_%20status_changed_&search=

My question for you:

Have you ever used knitting, or crafting, to cross cultural or social barriers in order to connect with another person?

Stuff I mention in Episode 16:

Intuition shawl by Stacy Elstone: https://www.stressknits.com

in her Stress Knits Squishy base, Eliza colorway: https://www.stressknits.com/?category=Squishy

Your wool blend recommendations for summer:

Woolbu: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/blue-moon-fiber-arts-woobu

Samite: https://www.blackeryarns.co.uk/yarn/samite-silk-blend

BambooPop: http://www.universalyarn.com/quality_color.php?quality=325

Knit One Crochet Too Elfin Tweed: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/knit-one-crochet-too-elfin-tweed

Elsebeth Lavold Silky Tweed: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/elsebeth-lavold-silky-tweed

Tegna by Caitlyn Hunter: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/tegna

Floozy Cardigan by Libby Jonson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/floozy-2

Kit in FloozyYarn: https://yarnfloozy.co.nz

There's a FloozyKAL: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/truly-myrtle/3813810/1-25

Summer Sweater KAL: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/very-shannon/3813773/101-125#119

Our combined "Next sweaters" list:

Guthrie by Caitlyn Hunter: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/guthrie

Meg by Junko Okamoto: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/meg-9

Jelly Donuts by Teresa Gregorio: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/jelly-donuts

My Annie Lupton Driftwood and Seaglass Test knit: https://www.instagram.com/p/Bl_x3xbFC9N/?taken-by=bohochicfiberco

in Knit Picks Hawthorne Multi in Nob Hill (discontinued color): https://www.knitpicks.com/yarns/Hawthorne_Fingering_Multi_Yarn__D5420251.html

and Stroll Tonal Pearlescent: https://www.knitpicks.com/yarns/Stroll_Tonal_Sock_Yarn__D5420134.html

Ready for Fall by Isabell Kraemer: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ready-for-fall-2

Mix and Match by the Knitting Expat: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mix--match-cardigan

O' Keeffe by Bristol Ivy: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/okeeffe-2

Piper by Libby Jonson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/piper-12

Wool and Honey by Andrea Mowry: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/wool--honey

Timely by Libby Jonson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/timely

and something... anything... Junko: https://www.ravelry.com/designers/junko-okamoto

Thoughts on Connecting via social media:

Melanie of Braid and tinker Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfKhtTdIw20lQY0AuKjLgOQ

and Melanie on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/melanie_knits/

Just one of many articles about social media protest: http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-10-25/activism-is-broken-heres-how-we-fix-it/9077372

People skills by Robert Bolton: https://www.amazon.com/dp/067162248X/?coliid=I16WNKYLQOMRR&colid=2NJ2XYEEGK0QJ&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

Nonviolent Communication by Marshall Rosenberg: https://www.amazon.com/dp/189200528X/?coliid=INUOCAEKBWJJ8&colid=2NJ2XYEEGK0QJ&psc=0&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it

And connecting through craft:

Katinka of Aknitak Creations Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC61E1yCsPEe21ZoaS0ZEBrg

and Katinka on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/aknitak1katinka/

Day One Journal App: http://dayoneapp.com

Emilie on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/emilie_idea/

and her plastics graphic: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/256564510007702813/

What the heck are soap nuts?: https://econutssoap.com/what-are-soap-nuts/

Lovebird Lane Yarns: https://www.etsy.com/shop/LovebirdLaneYarns

Our Junko Patterns:

Plum: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/plum-7

The Twigs: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-twigs

Lee Beret: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lee-beret

Rug: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rug-11

Igawa: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/igawa

Acorn: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/acorn-16

Wednesday, August 1, 2018

Episode 15: Honey Extraction

Hillbillly honey gathering and lots of Fall knitting talk:



On my blog: http://www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelife: https://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On Ravelry: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic

Questions I have for you, these are easy ones:

What wool blends have you used and enjoyed?

What is your next sweater project going to be?

Stuff I mention in Episode 15: Honey Extraction

Junko June and July KALhttps://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/junkojuneandjuly/

Plum by Junko Okamoto: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/plum-7

Knit in Moeke Yarns, Elena base: http://www.moeke-yarns.com

Igawa by Junko Okamoto: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/igawa

Rug by Junko Okamoto: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/rug-11

Lee Beret by Junko Okamoto: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lee-beret

Giveaway donation by Lovebird Lane Yarns: https://www.etsy.com/shop/lovebirdlaneyarns

Book, Podcasts, App, Song, and Site recommendations:

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0062414852/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Also, Gretchen's Happier Podcast: https://gretchenrubin.com/podcasts/

Book stand for knitting and reading bliss: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07459P7BF/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Ice Cream for Breakfast: https://www.amazon.com/Ice-Cream-Breakfast-rediscovering-problems/dp/1473659981/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1533070492&sr=1-1&keywords=ice+cream+for+Breakfast

Recommended by Melanie of the Braid and Tinker Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCfKhtTdIw20lQY0AuKjLgOQ

Day One Journal App: http://dayoneapp.com

Muzzle of Bees by Wilco: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2XH5Hr1XlM0

AKC Rally competition for dogs: https://www.akc.org/expert-advice/sports/rally/how-to-watch-akc-rally/

And someone's video of a Rally testing: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZPgPpOwJo8

Backyard Beekeeping: https://www.motherearthnews.com/homesteading-and-livestock/backyard-beekeeping-zmaz75zhol

Knit for Peace: http://www.knitforpeace.org.uk

Fantastic CBC Radio episode on Sagas of the Icelanders: https://www.youtube.com/redirect?q=https%3A%2F%2Fpodcast-a.akamaihd.net%2Fmp3%2Fpodcasts%2Fideas-yxASNbHp-20180612.mp3&event=comments&redir_token=N5ErCuYptMLtFvgAJ-otZNWseXh8MTUzMzE3MjQzMEAxNTMzMDg2MDMw

The Sagas of Icelanders: https://www.amazon.com/Sagas-Icelanders-Penguin-Classics-Deluxe/dp/0141000031

Dagmar's 28th Great- Grandfather, Egil!!!: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Egil%27s_Saga

Test Knit: Intuition Shawl will be released soon by Stacy of StressKnits Yarn: https://www.stressknits.com

Stress Knits Yarn Squishy Base, Eliza colorway: https://www.stressknits.com/?category=Squishy

My Muddlings Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNrkWmNXfeSClo-EVMHl1yA

Warm Weather Knitting:

Mae by Andrea Mowry: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mae-15

in Berroco Remix Light: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/berroco-remix-light

PomPom Quarterly Issue 25: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/pom-pom-quarterly-issue-25-summer-2018/patterns

Judoka byLia Moya: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/judoka

Herrera by Paula Pereira: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/herrera

Bayadere by Lori Versaci: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bayadere-2

to be knit in Classic Elite Song: http://www.classiceliteyarns.com/product_page_detail.php?category_id=1&item_id=3

My Julia sweater was knit in a 50/50 Classic Elite yarn too: http://www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com/2017/03/julia-sweater.html

Dana does lots of projects, even stranded colorwork, in summer weight yarns: https://www.instagram.com/callmedwj/

In thinking about the Summer Sweater Knit-along in Very Shannon Forum: https://www.ravelry.com/groups/very-shannon

Guthrie by Caitlin Hunter: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/guthrie

in Wool of the Andes Sport: https://www.knitpicks.com/yarns/Wool_of_the_Andes_Sport_Yarn__D5420110.html

and Spincycle Dyed in the Wool, Mississippi Marsala: https://spincycleyarns.com/collections/dyed-in-the-wool-sport-weight

Great Northern on Ravelry (though not all the patterns have been entered in the data base yet, they are all in the ebook): https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/great-northern

Based on styles from Twin Peaks (season 1 is my favorite) here's a blog post on it: http://www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com/2015/09/great-northern-blog-tour.html

And another post: http://www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com/2015/09/audrey-inspired-and-cowichan-esque.html

Lonely Souls by Teresa Gregorio: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lonely-souls

Cherry Pie by Teresa Gregorio: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cherry-pie-10

From Another Place by Leah Coccari-Swift: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/from-another-place-crop-top

Jelly Donuts by Teresa Gregorio: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/jelly-donuts

Stag Wall Hanging by Teresa Gregorio: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/stags-head-wall-hanging