Thursday, September 12, 2019

Episode 37: Totally Baked



This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast.

On my blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelifehttps://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On Ravelry as mamatronic: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic?set=&columns=&view=thumbnail&page=&sort=status%20completed_%20status_changed_&search=
On flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/mamatronic/albums

My questions for you: 1) Have you ever used spit splicing or magic knots to cut down the amount of ends you'll have to weave on a project? Or because your were short on yarn?

2) Have you ever made a magic cake? What did you use it to make?

3) Do you have links to any quick, visual references to brioche, in image form?

Stuff I mention in Episode 37: 

#EndWeavingParty: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/endweavingparty/

My Gyngerbread socks: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/smooth-operator-socks-8
Smooth Operator pattern by Susan B. Anderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/smooth-operator-socks

My Kia Socks: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/kia-socks
by Dawn Henderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/dawnlandix
knit in Mockingbird Fiber Co: https://www.mockingbirdfiberco.com

My Grotine: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/grotine
by Caroline Dick: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/caroline-dick-designs
knit in Madelinetosh Tosh DK, Free Range Eggs: https://madelinetosh.com

My Sonder: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/sonder-shawl
by Helen Stewart: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sonder-shawl
knit in SeraCraft Yarns: https://www.etsy.com/shop/SeraCraft
SeraCraft Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCHSSK1h_1-kHQXu5KdMk7yA

my Soldotna Crop: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/soldotna-crop
by Caitlin Hunter: https://www.ravelry.com/designers/caitlin-hunter
also knit in Mockingbird Fiber Co: https://www.mockingbirdfiberco.com

retro cropped sweaters on Poison Grrls: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/poison-grrls
Madewell High Rise jeans: https://www.madewell.com/womens/clothing/jeans?prefn1=denimRise&prefv1=Extra%20High%20%2811%22-12.5%22%29&scrollCount=0&positionInChunk=2

My Extreme Form: http://www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com/2009/11/xtreme-form.html

my Guthrie by Caitlin Hunter: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/guthrie
knit in Cascade 220 sport: https://www.yarn.com/products/cascade-yarns-220-sport?gclid=CjwKCAjwtuLrBRAlEiwAPVcZBjvp3UrhgsovdvCWC6IZKy2r1spnmaPtBS1Sk2t1H1G0pujnIzf3nhoCJGMQAvD_BwE
and SpinCycle, Mississippi Marsala: https://spincycleyarns.com/collections/dyed-in-the-wool-sport-weight

Love Pecan by Karen Broz: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/love-pecan

Tamy Gore patterns:
Minis and Me: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/minis-and-me
Milu: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/milu
Color Craze by Tamy Gore: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/color-craze
for BIPOCMAL2019: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/bipocmal2019/
knit in A Homespun House, rustic minis: https://ahomespunhouse.com/
Knit Picks Hawthorne, Silverton: https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/hawthorne-tonal-hand-paint/c/5420312
Silk/Mohair by Sunsoaked Yarns, Chocolate Fluff: https://www.etsy.com/shop/Sunsoakedyarns

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: https://www.amazon.com/Goldfinch-Novel-Pulitzer-Prize-Fiction-ebook/dp/B00BAXFECK/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=the+goldfinch&qid=1568238726&s=gateway&sr=8-1

The Secret History by Donna Tartt: https://www.amazon.com/Secret-History-Donna-Tartt-ebook/dp/B00CEGTVGC

Between the World and Me by Ta-Nehisi Coates: https://www.amazon.com/Between-World-Me-Ta-Nehisi-Coates/dp/0812993543/ref=sr_1_3?crid=19MHI1U3Z0M3V&keywords=between+the+world+and+me&qid=1568238695&s=gateway&sprefix=between+%2Caps%2C161&sr=8-3

Sunday, September 1, 2019

Episode 36: Ends Shmends

This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast.



On my blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelife: https://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On Ravelry as mamatronic: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic?set=&columns=&view=thumbnail&page=&sort=status%20completed_%20status_changed_&search=
On Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/mamatronic/

Don't forget the SeraCraft Coupon Code I mention here for 15% off!!!
https://www.etsy.com/shop/Seracraft?coupon=HANDMADE

My question for you: Do you love cropped sweaters or hate them? How are you wearing them? Any brands of high waisted bottoms or dress recommendations?

Stuff I mention in Episode 36:

OMD: http://www.omd.uk.com
Dark Matter byBlake Crouch: https://www.amazon.com/Dark-Matter-Novel-Blake-Crouch-ebook/dp/B0180T0IUY/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1PKKPFSBPGS7O&keywords=dark+matter+blake+crouch&qid=1567120392&s=digital-text&sprefix=dark+matter%2Cdigital-text%2C162&sr=1-1
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt: https://www.amazon.com/Goldfinch-Novel-Pulitzer-Prize-Fiction/dp/0316055425

#EndWeavingParty: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/endweavingparty/

Aphotic by This.Bird.Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/aphotic
Nirvana by This. Bird. Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/nirvana-4

Lovebird Lane Yarns: https://www.lovebirdlane.com
Courage by Shannon Cook: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/courage-shawl
knit in SpinCycle, Robin's Egg: https://spincycleyarns.com
Woolstok Yarn from Firefly Fibers: https://fireflyfibers.com/collections/yarn/products/blue-sky-woolstok-150?variant=4986602389534

Ways to weave in ends: https://www.instagram.com/p/B1HgAFlpcu2/

My Soldotna Crop by Caitlin Hunter: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/soldotna-crop
knit in Mockingbird Fiber Co kit, Drops of Jupiter: https://www.mockingbirdfiberco.com
using these modifications: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/WoollyBear99/soldotna-crop

knit for MockingbirdSweaterKAL: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/mockingbirdsweaterkal/
and Summer Sweater KAL: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/very-shannon/3946929/1-25

and here's the song everyone but me knows: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Xf-Lesrkuc
MadTV skit (Michael McCloud and Jasmine Wayne Wayne): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pq8zGy_KtTo&list=RDpq8zGy_KtTo&start_radio=1
Always and Forever, Heatwave: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d3DSQTDGMxY

SeraCraft Etsy shop worsted yarn: https://www.etsy.com/shop/Seracraft?coupon=HANDMADE
used for my Sonder by Helen Stewart: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sonder-shawl

Winter Rye by Tamy Gore: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/winter-rye

Ready Player One colorway from Must Stash Yarn: https://muststashshop.com
Smooth Operator pattern by Susan B. Anderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/smooth-operator-socks
How to practice Humility in photos: https://www.wikihow.com/Practice-Humility