Wednesday, April 29, 2020

Episode 47: So Much Drama

Hope you are all doing well! I am back after a little quarantining, a little soul searching, and some drama, as you will see. I talk all about my Love Note from March and way too much tv knitting. Theres even some crochet in there!



This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast.

On my blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Ravelry: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic
Our Ravelry group: https://www.ravelry.com/groups/my-so-called-handmade-life
On instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelife: https://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/mamatronic
 
Stuff I mention on Episode 47:

Love Note by Tin Can Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/love-note
knit in Chasing Rabbits Fiber Wildwood color way: https://www.chasingrabbitsfiber.com

Travelers Loop by Dawn Barker: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/travelers-loop
in Chasing Rabbits Fern, Joy and Violet Vale: https://www.chasingrabbitsfiber.com

Crossbody Canteen Bag by Alexander Tavel: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/crossbody-canteen-bag
crocheted in Lion Brand 24/7 Cotton with a Lion Brand strap: http://www.lionbrand.com/24-7-cotton.html

My Wood Pigeon Socks: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/smooth-operator-socks-10
knit in West Yorkshire Spinners Signature 4 ply Self-Striping, Wood Pigeon: https://www.wyspinners.com

Wall Hanging on Ravelry: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/knitting-in-the-hills-wall-hanging
knit in Berroco Macro: https://www.berroco.com/yarns/berroco-macro

Sockhead Hat by Kelly McClure: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sockhead-slouch-hat
Mockingbird Fiber Rustic Sock base in Delta Dawn: https://www.etsy.com/shop/MockingbirdFiberCo

Summer Tops:
Sweetpea Top by Rachel Misner: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-sweetpea-top
Callisto by Nasja Hornby: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/callisto-4
Into the Wild by Alexandra Tavel: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/into-the-wild-tank
Lacy Sweater "Villanelle" by Olga Grishina: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lace-sweater-villanelle
Pomelo Bag by Claire Lakewood: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pomelo
to knit in Willow Field Yarn, in Lobster and Warmth: https://www.willowyarns.com/product/willow+yarns%26%238482-+field+yarn.do

Craft Book Suggestions:
Knitting Without Tears by Elizabeth Zimmerman: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/knitting-without-tears/patterns
Stitch N Bitch by Debbie Stoller: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/peppermint-twist
includes The Manly Sweater by Kate Wisson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/the-manly-sweater
Skully by Samantha Bliss: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/skully
and Under the Hoodie by Kristin Spurkland: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/under-the-hoodie
Peppermint Twist by Becky Delgado: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/peppermint-twist
The Happy Hooker by Debbie Stoller: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/stitch-n-bitch-crochet-the-happy-hooker/patterns

includes: Doris Daymat by Faith Landsman: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/doris-daymat
Granny's No Square by Diana Rupp: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/grannys-no-square
Jolly Roger by Lynn Zykowski: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/jolly-roger
Short and Sweet by Angela Best: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/short-and-sweet
Prepster by Fay Lin: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/prepster
Bedfellows by Camilla Engman: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bedfellows

Greetings from Knit Cafe by Suzan Mischer: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/greetings-from-knit-cafe
includes: Chanel-ish Cardigan by Mary Heather Browne: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/chanel-ish-cardigan
Classic Sweater for Guys: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/classic-sweater-for-guys
Lacy Skirt with Bows by Kat Coyle: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/lacy-skirt-with-bows
Judy's Grandmother's Baby Sweater by Judy Spector: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/judys-grandmothers-baby-sweater
Slouchy Cardigan by Helene Roux: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/slouchy-cardigan
WEHO Bikini by Julia Trice: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/weho-bikini
Canyon Hiking Socks by Julia Trice: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/canyon-hiking-socks
Red Carpet Gown by SweaterBabe: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/red-carpet-gown

Strangebrew by Tin Can Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/strange-brew
includes Cartography: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cartography

52 Weeks of Socks by Laine:
includes: Heartichoke by Josephine & the Seeds: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/heartichoke
Unity by Nina Tanskanen: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/heartichoke
Imker by Apella.Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/imker
Stone by Tatiana Kolikova: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/stone-4
Turning Point by Zyaparova Masha: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/turning-point-3

Too much TV:
The Decline: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt10307440/
Killing Eve: https://www.bbcamerica.com/shows/killing-eve
The Iliad- It's free!: https://epdf.pub/the-iliad-richmond-lattimore-tr-university-of-chicagod8c84111c3b05379d457d233a230ff5171506.html
Attack on Titan: https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2560140/
Fetch the Boltcutters by Fiona Apple: https://www.democracynow.org/2020/4/28/fiona_apple_fetch_the_bolt_cutters

Fun links:
Depression Era Cooking with Clara: https://www.youtube.com/user/DepressionCooking
Y-Yo Ma and his sister's first performance in the US: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7G2QKzp78Zs
The Queen's Green Dress: https://www.marieclaire.com/celebrity/a32051285/queen-elizabeth-green-dress-meme/

Other new and/or free patterns:
Pangolin by Anna and Heidi Pickles: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pangolin-3
Social Distancing by Lucinda Iglesias: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/social-distancing-2m-6ft
Perfect-Pockets Shawl: Sonja Hood: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/perfect-pockets-shawl
From Anna Johanna's Shop
Surprise Stripes: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/surprise-stripes-3
Scrap Yarn Sock Advent Calendar: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/scrap-yarn-sock-advent-calendar
Eazy: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/eazy
Harmas: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/harmas

Love Note to Me

Do you have an old, worn box of love notes stashed somewhere in your house? Maybe it's folded, construction paper cards your kids made or a quick note your spouse scrawled on a napkin left by the coffeepot. It could be positive thoughts you sticky-noted to your bathroom mirror or the end of your yoga mat. Possibly they're elaborately folded pieces of faded college rule paper from someone whose name you might could almost forget, were it not for the fact that it's signed in No. 2 pencil at the bottom.






I get what Tin Can Knits is trying to evoke with the name they gave this design. It is soft mohair, delicate lace, and a quick jot of a project. When I wanted something special to bring to the Knitting in the Hills Retreat in March, I set aside my gift knitting for a week and chose to make a Love Note for myself.


In the same way I have laid out a pen and the perfect card or notebook many times in the past to write for someone else, I now sifted through my stash and picked a favorite colorway from one of my favorite dyers, Chasing Rabbits Fiber. Wildwood is a rich, earthy color that I was immediately drawn to the first time I saw it. This is saying a lot because it was at Hill Country Weavers, who have an almost overwhelming selection to choose from.

Like the really good love note, there's a little risk involved in the composition. If you only repeat the same old things and play it safe with your thoughts, it's not likely it will make it into the rumpled box of letters in the back of the closet. So I took a chance on my own behalf and used mohair held with fingering weight for the first time on a sweater. I know, it's like a warm hug and you've all done it, but I live in a warmer climate and have never wanted to gamble on it before. Risks for love, my friends.

And like the best of letters, I let the inspiration hit me on the spur of the moment, beginning it with only ten days until the retreat and sacrificing a little sleep while making it for someone I love.


The result was one of my favorite makes to date. It is the perfect combination of color, fiber, and style to be a gift to myself.  One of the big gifts being that I didn't have to knit full sleeves or body in stockinette. That's fortunate because I only had two skeins of the fingering weight Fern base. And it was dry at exactly the time I would need to be wearing it to head to the retreat.


Just to prove, love is worth taking chances, I'll tell you it was very cool that weekend and I was quite comfortable in my sweater.

Are you bored with my letter writing analogy yet? Okay, here are the details:

I knit a size medium, at a slightly tighter gauge ( 4.5 stitches, 7 rows per inch) using sizes US 5 and 8 needles. It only required 2 skeins of the Fern base from Chasing Rabbits Fiber, but I did use every but of it. I did have quite a bit left over from my 2 skeins of Gossamer silk/mohair lace weight. Both yarns were in the Wildwood colorway.


I thought the mohair/ silk might tone down the richness of the colorway too much, but I'm pleased to say it didn't. However, I'd really like to knit something out of Wildwood in just the Fern base, to compare the two in color depth.


I did knit the body to the longer size indicated in the pattern, but it is still very cropped due to my gauge difference. I made my sleeves a longer 3/4 length, also.

What I loved about this knit: The yarn!!! I also loved the lace yoke and how clear the motif is even with the mohair yarn. It's just the right amount of intricate. I also like the cropped high/lo hem.


So do I feel special because I made something luxe for myself? Um, yeah! I needed a little boost. It is laying folded in the cherished sweater wardrobe waiting for next Fall. This isn't like some crumpled napkin note...and I'm back to making something special for someone else :)

More on Love Note can be found on My So-Called HandMade Life Podcast episode 46, which talks about the retreat, and Episode 47.



(more images on Ravelry, instagram, and Flickr)