Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Episode 26: That DIY/ Mixtape/ Zine Ethos





This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast.

Find me on my blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
on instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelifehttps://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
on Ravelry as mamatronichttps://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic?set=&columns=&view=thumbnail&page=&sort=status%20completed_%20status_changed_&search=
and my Ravelry grouphttps://www.ravelry.com/groups/my-so-called-handmade-life

My Question for you:
What are the most interesting DIY/ cheap hacks you've made? They don't have to be knitting related.

Stuff I mention in Episode 26: 

Noro Garden Sock yarn: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/noro-silk-garden-sock

Kia Socks by Dawn Henderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kia-socks

Cottage Hat by Dawn Henderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cottage-hat-2

Kia Socks KAL: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/kiasockskal/

Smooth Operator Socks by Susan B. Anderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/smooth-operator-socks

knit in Gynx Yarns Gingerbread colorway (discontinued)

Mockingbird Fiber Co yarn in Monica colorway: https://www.mockingbirdfiberco.com

Check out FOs in the WingIt KAL in the Ravelry group: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/my-so-called-handmade-life/3866229/301-325#309

Persistence is Key by Amanda Woeger: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/persistence-is-key

Affordable yarns:

Holst Yarn as an affordable yarn option: https://holstgarn.dk/en/

Airy Wrap-Around Lace Sweater by Stefanie Japel: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/airy-wrap-around-lace-sweater

knit in Patons Lacette, discontinued but an example of big box store yarn: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/patons-lacette

Fitted Knits by Stefanie Japel: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/fitted-knits-25-designs-for-the-fashionable-knitter/patterns

The Drunk Knitter talking affordable yarns: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/yarn-bee-mimosa

Mimosa by Yarn Bee: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/yarn-bee-mimosa

Cropped and fitted sweaters cost less like Andi Satterlund's designs: https://www.ravelry.com/designers/andi-satterlund

and Poisongrrls: https://www.ravelry.com/designers/amy-appel

Shifty by Andrea Mowry: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/shifty-2

I'll knit in the Calypso, Trainling Vines, and Seascape colorways of Elann Tarantella: https://international.elann.com/elann-shop/elann-tarantella-yarn-5-ball-bag/

and destashed Knit Picks Chroma Twist Fingering in Lakeside: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/knit-picks-chroma-twist-fingering

also Stonehedge Fiber Mills Crazy skeins are an option: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/stonehedge-fiber-mill-crazy

or Fully Spun skeins: https://fullyspun.com 

Quote from Stitch N Bitch by Debbie Stoller: https://www.amazon.com/Stitch-n-Bitch-Knitters-Handbook/dp/0761128182

My WingItKAL project- Plaidster: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/plaidster

Strathcona by Tara-Lynn Morrison: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/strathcona-sweater

Affordable super bulky recommendations: 

accessibility post by Caroline Dick, she continues her thoughts into the comments: https://www.instagram.com/p/Bttpqw2lgAC/

Dana's color blocked Carlisle Cardigan by Tara-Lynn Morrison and her super-bulky recommendations: https://www.instagram.com/p/BuL4UbYFY1X/

Lion Brand Thick and Quick: http://www.lionbrand.com/wool-ease-thick-and-quick-yarn.html

Wool and the Gang at Joann: https://www.joann.com/wool-and-the-gang-cuddle-me-softly-yarn/zprd_16287781a.html#q=the%2Bgang%2Byarn&start=1

Queensland Air: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/queensland-collection-air

Wool of the Andes Bulky: https://www.knitpicks.com/yarns/Wool_of_the_Andes_Bulky_Yarn__D5420155.html

Michael's Loops and Threads Yarn:  https://www.michaels.com/free-spirit-yarn-by-loops-and-threads/10530918.html?cm_mmc=PLASearch-_-google-_-MICH_National_PLA_Shopping_Null_Null_Knitting+%26+Crochet_Goal+Optimized-_-Knitting+%26+Crochet&&cm_mmc=PLASearch-_-google-_-MICH_National_PLA_Shopping_Null_Null_Knitting+%26+Crochet_Goal+Optimized-_-Knitting+%26+Crochet&gclid=Cj0KCQiAwc7jBRD8ARIsAKSUBHJiJ39_rw6TSphc4ECmVRz0BIsmiIx6qSvl_Shl7rFzAtxP_8l06d8aAoM9EALw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds

Drops Andes: https://www.garnstudio.com/yarn.php?show=drops-andes&cid=17

Phildar Sport, held double: https://www.ravelry.com/yarns/library/phildar-sport-n6

and DIY giant circular needles: http://www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com/2013/05/diy-circulars-and-double-points.html

for Karate Sweater by Wenlan Chia: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/karate-sweater

Kid's Chain Mail by Kim Brody Salazar: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/kids-chainmail-coif-and-hauberk-chain-mail





No comments:

Post a Comment