Sunday, March 31, 2019

Episode 29: True to Ourselves



This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast. 

On the blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelife:
On Ravelry as mamatronic:


My question for you:  What are your thoughts on when an inspiration becomes creative theft? How do you use inspiration to then make something that's all your own?

Stuff I mention in Episode 29:

My Summer of George: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qjwuqUBdgA8

Delay, Don't Deny by Gin Stephens: https://www.amazon.com/Delay-Dont-Deny-Intermittent-Lifestyle-ebook/dp/B01N4JHL1P/ref=sr_1_1?crid=3KTHF2VYZJ066&keywords=delay+don%27t+deny&qid=1553809830&s=gateway&sprefix=delay+don%27t+deny%2Caps%2C155&sr=8-1

Intermittent Fasting Podcast: https://ifpodcast.com

Shauna Stitches Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCOfV6wkBgB6288iVQ1V9Ww/videos

Kia Socks by Dawn Henderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kia-socks

Monica's Apartment colorway, Mockingbird Fiber Co: https://www.mockingbirdfiberco.com

Floozy by Libby Jonson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/floozy-2

Sofia Coppola in The Godfather 3: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EqRB8mq7Qw

Henry Ford's Anti-Semitism article: https://www.pbs.org/wgbh/americanexperience/features/henryford-antisemitism/

Our WingITKAL projects: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/trees-7

Trees by Puk Vossen: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/trees-7

Yarnchix Zine: https://www.etsy.com/shop/YarnChix

Yarnchix Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC49grEfZVbX44IEezt4zEuQ

Jenna Martin Photoblog article: http://jennamartinphotoblog.com/2014/08/09/can-just-stop-complaining-ideas-stolen/


Juju's Loops by Juju Vail and Susan Cropper: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/jujus-loops/patterns

Weekend Knitting by Melanie Falick: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/weekend-knitting-50-unique-projects--ideas/patterns

Loop d Loop by Teva Durham: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/loop-d-loop/patterns

Knit 2Together by Tracey Ullman and Mel Clark: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/knit-2-together/patterns

Umnia by Martin Storey: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/umnia

To knit in Wool of the Andes Sport (pampas, currant, and thyme): https://www.knitpicks.com/yarns/Wool_of_the_Andes_Sport_Yarn__D5420110.html

for the Fruity Knitting Martin Storey KAL: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/fruity-knitting-podcast/3893511/1-25

GG Made It: http://ggmadeit.com/blog/

This is Us Kristy Glass Episode: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvLwaANQAM4&t=2620s

Saturday, March 9, 2019

Episode 28: Call of Knitting Zombies.

First of all, let me say that I've gotten a little education on Henry Ford and I think it's safe to say he was not into civil rights. Yikes. I'll talk about it briefly in Episode 29. I'd already filmed this before learning that. Yuck.

Otherwise, I'm back on track with regular podcasting and it feels nice to have more conversation going between us.

Also if you have kids around, don't watch the video after 1:11:32 . You can see a bit of my husband's Call of Duty game. It's gross.



This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast. 

On my blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelife: https://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On Ravelry as mamatronic: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic?set=&columns=&view=thumbnail&page=&sort=status%20completed_%20status_changed_&search=
Our Ravelry group: https://www.ravelry.com/groups/my-so-called-handmade-life
And on Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/mamatronic/

My Question for you: What are some older pattern books or patterns you've been meaning to knit from, but haven't yet?

Stuff I mention in Episode 28:

Monica's apartment on friends, compare to the yarn I showed: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/256564510008923101/

The Drunk Knitter Podcast: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCklmDz1EzkWHvlP-vE7E4Pw/videos

Chris Kresser: https://chriskresser.com

The saying: "It's better to eat the wrong food with the right attitude than the right food with the wrong attitude."

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin: https://gretchenrubin.com/books/the-happiness-project/about-the-book/

Bed of Roses: https://www.etsy.com/shop/bedofroses?ref=l2-shop-header-avatar

Atelier Sarah Jane: http://www.ateliersarahjane.com

The #WingItKAL projects on Ravelry: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/my-so-called-handmade-life/3866229/1-25

#WingItKAL projects on instagram: https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/wingitkal/

Winston Pullover by Jane Richmond: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/winston-pullover

Jane's seed stitch version: https://www.instagram.com/p/BumP4Ceh-To/

knit in Lion Brand Thick & Quick, Sea Glass colorway: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/winston-pullover

My Plaid sweater for the KAL on Ravelry:

Cascade 220 Sport for second version of Plaidster in Olive Oil, Navy, and Silver Gray: http://www.cascadeyarns.com/cascade-Cascade220Sport.htm

Kia Socks by Dawn Henderson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kia-socks

In Mockingbird Fiber Co, Monica's Apartment colorway: https://www.mockingbirdfiberco.com

Some DIY Links: 

DIY Drum Carder plans: https://www.etsy.com/listing/606520943/diy-drum-carder-plans?utm_medium=SellerListingTools&utm_campaign=Share&utm_source=Raw&share_time=1523326860000&utm_term=so.slt

Bike wheel spinning wheel: http://meaterra.blogspot.com/2011/05/so-much-more-than-yarn.html

Bike spinning wheel plans: https://www.motherearthnews.com/diy/make-spinning-wheel-zmaz76mjztak

Dodec Ravelry group: https://www.ravelry.com/groups/the-dodec

Free Dodecspinning wheel plans: https://www.interweave.com/article/spinning/dodec-spinning-wheel-plans-by-porter-threads/

Dodec in action: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yvgvPW9gXAg&feature=youtu.be

Dog fur spinning!: https://modernfarmer.com/2014/06/dressed-dog/

How to make photo coasters: http://www.cardstore.com/blog/diy-photo-coasters/

Weekend Knitting book: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/weekend-knitting-50-unique-projects--ideas/patterns

Feyre by Shannon Cook: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/feyre-2

Some Martin Storey pattern books on Ravelry:

Scottish Heritage Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/scottish-heritage-knits

Rowan Vintage Knits: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/rowan-vintage-knits

Pioneer: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/pioneer/patterns

Rowan Magazine 56: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/rowan-56/patterns

Rowan Classic Winter: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/rowan-classic-winter-book-6/patterns

Martin Storey KAL in Fruity Knitting Podcast group: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/fruity-knitting-podcast/3893511/1-25

Knit.1 Magazine: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/knit1-fall-2004

Tuesday, March 5, 2019

Episode 27: My Sweet Little Abomination



This is where I record the eleventy-billionth knitting podcast.

On my blog: www.myso-calledhandmadelife.com
On Instagram as mysocalledhandmadelife: https://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/
On Ravelry as mamatronic: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic?set=&columns=&view=thumbnail&page=&sort=status%20completed_%20status_changed_&search=
And in the My So-Called Handmade Life group: https://www.ravelry.com/groups/my-so-called-handmade-life

Stuff I mention:

Suga's restaurant: https://www.sugasdeepsouth.com

Jeremy Benoit: http://artistecard.com/jeremybenoitjbsaax

I'm Walkin by Fats Domino: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-rOuwEYTvYk

The Henry Ford Museum: https://www.thehenryford.org

Ford Family home restoration: https://www.fordhouse.org/about/the-henry-ford-estate

civil rights display: https://www.thehenryford.org/explore/stories-of-innovation/what-if/rosa-parks/

Detroit Auto Show: https://naias.com

Stuff I'm reading/ watching:

The Expanse by James S. A. Corey: https://www.amazon.com/The-Expanse-7-Book-Series/dp/B071XSV52H

Blue Light amber glasses: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073ZWC97J/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s02?ie=UTF8&th=1

Wool by Hugh Howey: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073ZWC97J/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s02?ie=UTF8&th=1

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline: https://www.amazon.com/Ready-Player-One-Ernest-Cline/dp/0307887448

Jack Black's Jablinski Games: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuriCa9loP_OsH75_5j8M5w

The Quirky Monday Craftcast: https://www.youtube.com/user/artsycalei

Tara-Lynn Morrison/ Good Night Dayhttps://goodnightday.bigcartel.com/product/pre-order-minimalist-knitting-patterns-book-ebook

Strathcona by Tara-Lynn Morrison: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/strathcona-sweater

Markham Loop Collar: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/markham-loop-collar---good-night-day

Kingston Sweater: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/kingston-cropped-sweater

Belleville Shawl: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/belleville-shawl-cowl

Pembroke Tank: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/pembroke-tank

Windsor Headband: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/windsor-headband

Omemee Cable Toque: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/omemee-cable-toque

Bancroft Sweater, free pattern: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bancroft-sweater

Bloomfield Lace Blanket Wrap: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bloomfield-lace-blanket-wrap

Stratford/ Leeds Halter Crop Top: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/leeds-halter-crop-top

York Bobble Toque: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/york-bobble-toque

Perth Cardigan: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/perth-cardigan

Meaford Moss Cowl/ Wrap/ Scarf: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/meaford-moss-cowl---wrap---scarf

Petawawa Toque: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/petawawa-cable-toque

Minto Chevron Cowl: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/minto-chevron-cowl

Newer Good Night Day book: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/good-night-day-minimalist-knitting-patterns/patterns

Older Good Night Day book, still available: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/good-night-day-knitting-patterns

Pom Pom Quarterly Issue 28: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/pom-pom-quarterly-issue-28-spring-2019/patterns

Woodwardia by Lydia Gluck: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/woodwardia

Ginkgophyte by Emily Greene: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/ginkgophyte

Felix Mitts by Judith Brand: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/filix

Water Clover by Isa Catepill├ín: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/water-clover

Aurea by Stella Egidi: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/aurea-2

My current and old un-projects:

My Plaidster sweater: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/plaidster

in Briggs and Little Heritage yarn: https://briggsandlittle.com/patterns/wool-knitting-yarns/

for the #WingItKAL: https://www.ravelry.com/discuss/my-so-called-handmade-life/3866229/1-25

My Gingerbread House Socks: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/smooth-operator-socks-8

Mae by Andrea Mowry: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/mae-15

Floozy by Libby Jonson: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/floozy-2

Yarn by Yarnfloozy: https://yarnfloozy.co.nz

Guthrie by Caitlin Hunter: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/guthrie

Feya- Amy Christoffers: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/feya