Thursday, February 24, 2022

Episode 52: Sneaky Extra

            
            



This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast.
on instagram as @mysocalledhandmadelifehttps://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/

My question for you is still have you ever un-knit, recycled yarn to make something different? How did it go? Would you be interested in a Recycle, reknit, reuse KAL?

Stuff I mention in Episode 52:
The Fisherman's Muse by Ailbíona McLochlainn: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/fishermans-muse

Knit in Höner och Eir Nutiden: http://www.honerocheir.nu
Caroline's Fisherman's Muse: https://www.instagram.com/p/B_F0MgopN8A/


Guilloche Pullover by Ailbíona Mc Lochlainn: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/guilloche-pullover

knit in Knit Picks Hawthorne fingering in The Pearl: https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/hawthorne-fingering-multi/c/5420251


Knit in Barker Wool (BFL DK and Gossamer, both in Olivine): https://barkerwool.com

To knit in Fern base in Joy and Violet Vale: https://barkerwool.com/bases

Two of Wands site: https://www.twoofwands.com
knit Hue & Me yarn, in Arrowwood and Salt: https://www.lionbrand.com/products/hue-me-yarn

knit in graduate scarf leftovers 

Things I knit with recycled yarn:
Simcoe Braided Headband by Tara Lynn Morrison: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/simcoe-headband


May do for a Recycled KAL:

My Eastwood Cardigan by Allyson Dykhuizen: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/eastwood-cardigan

knit in Dirty Water Dyeworks clara: http://dirtywaterdyeworks.com/index.html
and Wool of the Andes Tweed tin Flagstone heather: https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/wool-of-the-andes-tweed/c/5420211 

Some reads:

Monday, February 21, 2022

Episode 51:

Episode 51: Hopeful is about my Hope Sweater, A Hint of Summer, knitting the Graduate Scarf and responding to some comments in Episode 49 that are now over a year old and not so timely.       


           


This is where I record the eleventy billionth knitting podcast. 

Don't forget the giveaway. I'm giving a copy of the Hope Sweater to one of you who answer the prompt below in the first 3 days or so after I post the video. Leave your Rav name or email in comment.


My question for you: Have you ever recycled yarn and re-knit or re-crocheted an item? How did it work out? Any tips? Would you be interested in a recycle and Reknit KAL?

Stuff I mention in Episode 51: 


knit in Wool of the Andes Sport in Midnight heather and Sagebrush: https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/wool-of-the-andes-sport/c/5420110

an Igaia Knits episode about Hope Sweater: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zqWQENqpPz4&t=3009s

A Hint of Summer from Isabell Kraemer: https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/a-hint-of-summer


knit in yarn by Christie Archer Designs: https://www.etsy.com/people/ChristieArcher22

Christie's vlog episode with all her 2021 knits: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4F1U4AGjEk&t=4407s


Two of Wands blog with many free patterns: https://www.twoofwands.com/blog

knit in Hue & Me in Arrowwood and Salt: https://www.lionbrand.com/products/hue-me-yarn

My Rory Needs a Break Scarf (a Gilmore Girls-inspired knit):  https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic/unicorn-stripes



Sister Mountain's awesome blog for designing: https://www.sistermountain.com/blog


Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Episode 50: So Much Hue and Me

           

Episode 50: So Much Hue & Me is where I show a LOT of Alexandra Tavel projects I've knit over the last two years.

Find me on My So-Called Handmade Life.

On Instagram as @mysocalledhandmdelife: https://www.instagram.com/mysocalledhandmadelife/

On Ravelry as mamatronic: https://www.ravelry.com/projects/mamatronic?set=&page=&search=&sort=status%20completed_%20status_changed_&view=large

My question for you: What changes have happened in your life over the last year or so?

Stuff I talk about in Episode 50:

A year full of Alexandra Tavel projects, knit in Lion Brand's Hue and Me yarn, except where noted.

Alexandra Tavel's site: https://www.twoofwands.com

Campfire Blanket Scarf: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/accessories/campfire-blanket-scarf-pattern

knit in Lion Brand Fishermen's Wool: https://www.lionbrand.com/collections/yarn-weight-4-medium/products/fishermens-wool-yarn?variant=32420913184861

Harvest Throw: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/home/harvest-throw-pattern

Illusionist Infinity Scarf: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/accessories/illusionist-infinity-scarf-pattern

Seafarer's Cap: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/accessories/seafarers-cap-pattern

Sophie Bucket Hat: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/accessories/sophie-bucket-hat-pattern

Knit in Go for Faux yarn: https://www.lionbrand.com/products/go-for-faux-yarn

Easton Striped Pullover: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/clothing/easton-striped-pullover-pattern

Keaton Vest: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/clothing/keaton-vest-pattern

Crossbody Canteen Bag: https://www.twoofwands.com/patterns/accessories/crossbody-canteen-bag-pattern

Knit in Lion Brand 24/7 Cotton: https://www.lionbrand.com/products/24-7-cotton